I haven’t forgotten the first time I saw one – Fiat 500

While my experience wasn’t exactly like the one this guy had with the Abarth, it was just as memorable.

I was in Paris, walking on Boulevard Montmartre, and she was parked on the side of the road in her cute little way. She was off-white with a light blue interior. I thought she looked like a little cake (mianbao in Chinese sounds better). Very delicious and I wanted to eat her.

That was 2009 and I’ve been obsessed with Fiat ever since. When I found out that Chrysler entered into a strategic alliance with the Italian carmaker, and that it would be available in America in 2010, I moved Volkswagen Cabrio/EOS down to number two on my Dream Car list.

My Fiat love affair has also been strengthened by the company’s detail-oriented marketing strategy — It’s 10,000 sexier than the Mini, just as smart and witty as VW (but more bad ass), and as crave-able as Italian food. The ad with Jennifer Lopez put me off a little bit but they’ve rebounded with their Catrinel Menghia and Charlie Sheen versions.

This video is the the Fiat 500 Abarth ad with Catrinel Menghia that premiered during the 2011 Superbowl. Here’s their latest with Charlie Sheen, called “House Arrest“.

Share your thoughts

