Secrets to Success: Wear the same thing everyday

zuckerberg & chanIf I were lucky enough to be Priscilla Chan, I would have no problem with my husband wearing the same outfit everyday of the year. In fact, I would have preferred the same T-shirt, hoodie and jeans combo on our wedding day if it meant a bigger and better engagement ring, but I digress.

Men like Mark Zuckerberg and Steve Jobs have/had enough on their minds; standing in front of their closets for five minutes every morning means five fewer minutes thinking about which privacy function to put in place or what jungle cat the next iOS should be named after.

It shouldn’t come as a surprise then, and we should be happy to learn, that President Obama is no different. In an interview with Vanity Fair this past October, he admitted to wearing only gray or blue suits.  “I’m trying to pare down decisions. I don’t want to make decisions about what I’m eating or wearing. Because I have too many other decisions to make.”

He also “mentioned research that shows the simple act of making decisions degrades one’s ability to make further decisions. It’s why shopping is so exhausting. ‘You need to focus your decision-making energy. You need to routinize yourself. You can’t be going through the day distracted by trivia.'”

If we could all get on board with this, how much more successful, productive and happy would we be? Pick a style, stick with it, do something more with the time we save.

The more I read, the more I’ve come to realize that having time is the most important factor to happiness. So if I could, I would adopt a hybrid Zuckerberg/Jobs style, because I get cold easily and most days am too lazy to put in contacts.

markzteveobama

 

Read about 15 other notable people who wear the same thing everyday.

Share your thoughts

