Homemade citrus potpourri

I love the smell of fresh fruit and I found a new way to expand the benefits of eating an orange every day.

After I peel off the skin, I chop it up into half-inch squares and put them in a decorative mason jar (or in this case an old jar for jam) as a quick air freshener that’s also decorative — the orange and white colors are in the glass give any room a pop of color.

Orange peels are the most pungent but you can experiment with grapefruit peels too. Just don’t try it with anything that might rot easily, like banana skins.

After the potpourri dries out or I want a fresh batch, I throw the old pieces into my freezer to compost later.

Have fun!

20140330-213952.jpg

20140330-214001.jpg

20140330-214010.jpg

20140330-214016.jpg

Share your thoughts

